Daniel W. Whittle


Daniel W. Whittle was born in Chicopee Falls, Massachusetts, on November 22, 1840. At the age of twenty-one he joined the 72nd Illinois Infantry, enlisting in Company B as a Second Lieutenant. Later he rose to the rank of Major on General O.O. Howard's staff. He was with General Sherman on his march to the sea and was later wounded at the battle of Vicksburg. Upon his recovery and return home, he met the noted evangelist, D.L. Moody. His relationship with Moody changed the course of Whittle's life. After a rather brief time in business with the Elgin Watch Company, whose treasurer he became, he was persuaded by Moody to enter full-time evangelistic work. Soon he became known as one of the leading evangelists of his day.

Whittle always worked with a gospel singer and song leader. His first such associate was Philip P. Bliss, whose tragic death at the Ashtabula, Ohio, train wreck in 1876 ended a most happy relationship. James McGranahan succeeded Bliss as Major Whittle's singing companion. The greater number of Whittle's more than two hundred hymn texts were set to music by McGranahan. Most of Whittle's hymns bore the pseudonym "El Nathan." Moody once said, "I think Major Whittle has written some of the best hymns of this century." Together Whittle and McGranahan made several trips to Great Britain for evangelistic crusades and traveled exclusively in this country until about 1890, when McGranahan's health began to fail.

At Northfield, Massachusetts, on March 4, 1901, at the age of sixty-one, Major Daniel W. Whittle completed his colorful and fruitful pilgrimage and went to be with the Lord he loved and served so faithfully.

(101 Hymn Stories, The Inspiring True Stories Behind 101 Favorite Hymns by Kenneth W. Osbeck, Copyright 1982 and published by Kregel Publications, a division of Kregel, Inc., Grand Rapids, MI., page 117.)

The Hymns of Daniel W. Whittle

(El Nathan)

  • All For Jesus (M. Fraser, arrangement by El Nathan) (1896)
  • All We Like Sheep (1884)
  • At That Day Ye Shall Know (1896)
  • Be Near Me, O My Saviour (1896)
  • Believe, and Keep on Believing (arrangement from W.L. by El Nathan) (1887)
  • Believe on the Lord (1885)
  • Beloved, Now Are We the Sons of God (1883)
  • Be Ye strong in the Lord (1887)
  • By Grace Are Ye Saved (1882)
  • Carried by the Angels (1887)
  • Christ Alone is Saviour (1896)
  • Christ Hath Redeemed Us (1896)
  • Come on the Wings of the Morning (1896)
  • Glory to God the Father (1884)
  • God is Now Willing; Are You? (1896)
  • God Lives (Schmolke, chorus by D.W.W.) (1896)
  • Have Faith in God (1887)
  • He is Not Here, But is Risen! (1884)
  • I Looked to Jesus (1887)
  • I Shall be Satisfied (1879)
  • I Will (1883)
  • I Will Pass Over You (1891)
  • Jesus Christ Our Saviour (1886)
  • Look Unto Me (1885)
  • Lord, Teach us How to Pray (1896)
  • Moment by Moment (1893)
  • Neither Do I Condemn Thee (1885)
  • No More (1894)
  • Our Mother's Way (furnished by El Nathan, arrangement) (1885)
  • Our Sun and Shield! (C.L.S., arrangement by El Nathan) (1885?)
  • Pardon, Peace and Power (1883)
  • Saved to Serve (1895)
  • Soldiers of the King (1893)
  • Song of the Soldier (arrangement from Falkner, 1723, by El Nathan) (1882)
  • Spirit so Holy (1896)
  • The Banner of the Cross (1884)
  • The Coming of the Kingdom Draweth Near! (1883)
  • The Crowning Day (1881)
  • The Hope of the Coming of the Lord (1896)
  • The Love That Gave Jesus to Die (1887)
  • The Master is Calling for Thee (1896)
  • There Shall Be Showers of Blessing (1882)
  • Two Gates, Two Ways (1884)
  • We've Sighted the Golden Gate (1882)
  • When Jesus Comes Again (J.V. arrangement, furnished by El Nathan) (1896)
  • Ye Are Not Your Own (1885)

(The date given in parentheses is the date of copyright and not when the hymn was written)


Sacred Songs No. 1 by Ira D. Sankey, James McGranahan and George C. Stebbins, Copyrighted, 1896, and Published by The Biglow & Main Co., New York, New York.

Preface: This volume embraces selections from the latest new songs of the authors written during the past six years; each piece having been thoroughly tested and approved by Mr. Moody. In addition to these there are new and valuable contributions from a number of the leading sacred song writers of the day.

The Gospel Choir by Ira D. Sankey and James McGranahan, Copyrighted, 1885, and Published by the Biglow & Main Co., New York, New York.